Always Indulging

Most people who know me academically know that I am a careful planner, but then my other more fun side has a problem with indulging (I am using the word “problem” lightly). I relate to those who live a care-free lifestyle, traveling the world, tasting all of the different foods each place has to offer and taking day trips to the mountains or even to the beach.

The Hofstede’s indulgence dimension speaks to me on a personal level. In most cases, I feel that throwing caution to the wind for a greater experience is the best way to be happy and live a fulfilled life. Hofstede’s definition of the indulgence dimension is: “A society that practices indulgence makes room for the comparatively free gratification of natural and basic human drives pertaining to indulging in fun and enjoying life.”

For the country comparison, I took a few guesses. The first guess I made was that Australia would have a high level of indulgence, in which case I was correct. However, I was surprised to find out that Colombia actually has an even higher level of indulgence. Due to the high indulgence nature of Colombia I know I would definitely be happy there.  Add on the gorgeous 360 mountain view and rich history and you have yourself a recipe for a fulfilled life.

The only downfall of breathtaking Colombia is my need for beaches in which case I would definitely choose Australia over Colombia.

Catch me on the next flight to Colombia!

Leave a comment